Atlantic domain

December 14, 2011, 7:10 am

The Atlantic domain is one of three regions into which the North Atlantic Ocean is sometimes divided for the purposes of describing water mass formation processes in the region, with the other two being the (northward lying) Arctic domain and the Polar domain.

This article is written at a definitional level only. Authors wishing to expand this entry are inivited to expand the present treatment, which additions will be peer reviewed prior to publication of any expansion.

Surface source water masses from the Atlantic domain (called Atlantic Water (AW), are carried into the Arctic domain by the Norwegian Atlantic Current and, to a much smaller extent, by the North Icelandic Irminger Current.

See Also

Further Reading

  • Physical Oceanography Index
  • James H. Swift. The arctic waters. In Burton G. Hurdle, editor, The Nordic Seas, pages 129–153. Springer-Verlag, 1986.




Baum, S. (2011). Atlantic domain. Retrieved from


To add a comment, please Log In.