Protected Areas of the Albertine Rift


The following is a (likely incomplete) list of protected areas in the Albertine Rift. The areas are ordered alphabetically  under the nation with locations indicated on the maps right.

caption Protected areas in the northern part of the Albertine Rift stretching from the northern tip of Lake Albert to the border between Uganda and Rwanda. Source: Conservation Wildlife Society
caption Protected areas in the central part of the Albertine Rift, including Rwanda and Burundi. Source: Conservation Wildlife Society
caption Protected areas in the southern end of the Albertine Rift including TanzaniaDRC and Zambia. Source: Conservation Wildlife Society

Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Kahuzi-Biéga National Park
  • Maiko National Park
  • Marungu Mountains Reserve
  • Massif d'Itombwe Nature Reserve
  • Mont Kabobo Nature Reserve
  • Virunga National Park


  • Budongo Forest Reserve
  • Bugoma Forest Reserve
  • Bugungu Wildlife Reserve
  • Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
  • Echuya Forest Reserve
  • Itwara Forest Reserve
  • Kagombe Forest Reserve
  • Kalinzu Forest Reserve
  • Karuma Wildlife Reserve
  • Kasyoha-Kitomi Forest Reserve
  • Kibale National Park
  • Kitechura Forest Reserve
  • Kyambura Wildlife Reserve
  • Maramagambo Forest
  • Matiri Forest Reserve
  • Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
  • Murchison Falls National Park
  • Queen Elizabeth National Park
  • Rwenzori Mountains National Park
  • Semuliki National Park
  • Toro-Semliki Wildlife Reserve (sometimes just "Semliki Wildlife Reserve")


  • Mukura Forest Reserve
  • Nyungwe National Park
  • Volcanoes National Park


  • Bururi Forest Nature Reserve
  • Kibira National Park
  • Rusizi National Park


  • Gombe National Park
  • Mahale National Park


  • Mweru-Wantipa National Park
  • Nsumbu National Park (also Sumbu National Park)


(Transnational except Lake George)

  • Lake Albert
  • Lake George
  • Lake Edward  
  • Lake Kivu
  • Lake Tanganyika

Albertine Rift (collection)


Saundry, P. (2009). Protected Areas of the Albertine Rift. Retrieved from


To add a comment, please Log In.